News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news release

 SHARE   |  

UW-Eau Claire faculty, staff receive Nontraditional Student Services recognition

May 9, 2012

EAU CLAIRE — University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire Nontraditional Student Services recently honored 22 UW-Eau Claire faculty and staff with the newly established Concern for Adults Returning to Education (CARE) Recognition program.

The CARE Recognition program provided nontraditional students the opportunity to identify an exceptional UW-Eau Claire faculty or staff member who accepts the unique challenges and qualities that adult students bring to campus.

According to Bonnie Isaacson, nontraditional student adviser, nontraditional students generally feel apprehensive, albeit excited, about completing their degree. In addition to their studies, the students must juggle jobs, family and running a household.

"When a faculty or staff member takes the time to help these students feel at ease about their decision to return to education, it helps to alleviate much anxiety and opens the path for success in their educational pursuit," Isaacson said. "We wanted to say thank you to those faculty and staff members who understand this."

Students were asked how their nominee was helpful to them, how the nominee accommodated any unique needs that nontraditional students may have and how the nominee made them feel appreciated and welcome in the classroom.

"We especially appreciate faculty and staff who take time to go the extra mile with adults returning to school," Isaacson said.

Following are the spring 2012 CARE nominees, each of whom received a letter of thanks and a certificate of appreciation:

  • Dr. Cheryl Brandt, associate professor of nursing.
  • Miranda Cross-Schindler, military education benefits coordinator (received two nominations).
  • Herschel Day, assistant professor of mathematics.
  • Janet Driever, senior lecturer of communication and journalism.
  • Dr. Selika Ducksworth-Lawton, associate professor of history.
  • Dr. Steven Fink, assistant professor of religious studies.
  • Rachael Haupt-Harrington, clinical instructor of nursing.
  • Dr. Robert Hollon, professor of education studies.
  • Bonnie Isaacson, nontraditional student adviser.
  • Victoria Lieske, clinical instructor of nursing.
  • Allyson Loomis, associate professor of English.
  • Dr. Susan Moch, professor of nursing.
  • Pat Montanye, financial aid counselor.
  • Heather Ann Moody, associate lecturer of American Indian studies.
  • Kelly Murray, senior lecturer of biology.
  • Dr. Kathleen Nybroten, associate professor of sociology.
  • Dr. Cathy Rex, assistant professor of English.
  • Dr. Sherrie Serros, professor of mathematics.
  • Dr. Mary Beth Tusing, assistant professor of psychology.
  • Charles Vue, assistant director, Office of Multicultural Affairs.
  • Dr. Mary Zwygart-Stauffacher, professor of nursing.

For more information, contact Bonnie Isaacson at 715-836-3259 or



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.