News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

Students to present at national research conference

April 3, 2013

EAU CLAIRE — Sixty-three students and 16 faculty and staff from the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire will attend the National Conference on Undergraduate Research April 11-13 at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.

Students attending the conference will represent the following UW-Eau Claire departments and units: Academic Skills Center, accounting and finance, biology, chemistry, communication sciences and disorders, computer science, Dean of Students Office, economics, education studies, history, management and marketing, materials science, nursing, physics, psychology, social work and Watershed Institute for Collaborative Environmental Studies. Travel to the conference is supported by Blugold Commitment funding.

"At UW-Eau Claire, 25 percent of seniors report working on a research project with a faculty mentor outside of a course," said Dr. Karen Havholm, assistant vice chancellor for research and sponsored programs. "This is above the national average for institutions like ours, according to the National Survey of Student Engagement."

Poster presentations will include "Fabrication of Silicon Carbide Nanowires for Use in Electronic Devices" by Jason Leicht, Little Chute, Caramon Ives, Eau Claire, and Sam Emmons, Barron, with faculty mentor Dr. Doug Dunham, Materials Science Center; "The Lac Courte Oreilles Chippewa vs. the Northwestern States Power Company" by Stephen Petrie, Cedarburg, with faculty mentor Dr. David Soll, Watershed Institute for Collaborative Environmental Studies; and "Burnout and Resilience among Human Service Professionals in South Africa" by Randi Winchester, Eau Claire, Carolyn Egan, Coon Rapids, Minn., and Sara Fathauer, Eau Claire, with faculty mentor Dr. Leah Olson-McBride, social work.

Oral presentations will include "Donovan's Cowboys and Baker Street Irregulars: U.S. and British Intelligence Conflicts During World War II Reflecting the Geopolitical Hegemonic Change" by Christopher Dictus, Green Bay, with faculty mentor Dr. Louisa Rice, history; and "The America's Cup: A Study of Multi-Team Systems" by April Heder, Elm Grove, and Devin Mantha, Ann Arbor, Mich., with faculty mentor Dr. Rhetta Standifer, management and marketing.

"This kind of student activity is a high-impact educational practice and a hallmark of the university," Havholm said. "Our students benefit greatly from the opportunity to present their work to an audience of faculty and students from around the country."

Other student research presenters are Roxanne Accola, Sauk City; Mahmoud Kareem Ahmed, Eau Claire; Jennifer Barth, Eau Claire; Travis Bischel, Bloomer; Kaitlin Bloomgren, Fairmont, Minn.; Bailey Boelter, Lakeville, Minn.; Grant Butterfield, Tomah; Tiffany Christner, Stevens Point; Racheal Cowan, Maplewood, Minn.; Taylor Custer, Hudson, Ohio; Kelsey Dumanch, Hustisford; Rachel Egdorf, Mishicot; Elizabeth Farley, Sturgeon Bay; Mitchell Fischer, Eau Claire; Stephen Fisher, Maple Grove, Minn.; Samara Gaitan, Arcadia; Carissa Gutsmiedl, Oshkosh; Abigail Habeck, Mishicot; Lydia Harrer, Weyauwega; Elizabeth Harris, Mondovi; Cheng Her, Altoona; Lainee Hoffman, Clintonville; Michael Kosiak, Shoreview, Minn.; Rebecca Lamers, Kaukauna; Joan Laundry, Mount Horeb; Elora Leene, Oconomowoc; Taren J. Leitzke, Wausau; Justin Mabin, Barneveld; Emy Marier, Hugo, Minn.; Anja Meerwald, Edina, Minn.; Welsey Meives, Barneveld; Jordan Montpetit, Baldwin; Kristen Morgan, Rochester, Minn.; Abigail Nygaard, Maplewood, Minn.; Kelly O'Donnell, Eau Claire; Daniel Scott Putman, Eau Claire; Katie Remington, Eau Claire; Adam J. Revak, Lonsdale, Minn.; Giney Rojas, Waunakee; Kathryn Scherber, St. Michael, Minn.; Conor J. Sherman, Mukwonago; Timothy Shaw, Marshfield; Ashley Shipman, Bloomer; Carlee Toddes, Norristown, Pa.; April Unterberger, Adams; Caitlin Vandre-Schmidt, Wausau; Robyn Wallin, Eau Claire; Laurelyn Wieseman, Eau Claire; Kathleen Widmer, New Prague, Minn.; Sheina Wind, Platteville; Mitchell D. Wood, Hewitt; Txuci Xiong, Greenville; and Khue Yang, Eau Claire.

NCUR started in 1987 at the University of North Carolina at Asheville to promote undergraduate research, scholarship and creative activity in partnership with faculty or other mentors. The conference now regularly hosts more than 3,000 students and their faculty mentors who present research through posters, oral presentations, visual arts and performances. More information about this year's conference is available online.



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.