News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

Juried Student Art Show winners and scholarships announced

April 16, 2013

EAU CLAIRE — The winners of the 56th annual Juried Student Art Show at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire have been announced.

Senior Catelyn Mailloux, St. Cloud, Minn., won first place with a sculpture titled "Daddy" and placed third for "Touch," another sculpture. Senior Calvin Grier, Apple Valley, Minn., placed second with "Table," a furniture piece.

Honorable mentions went to junior Katie Bohn, Whitefish Bay, for "Barnacles," an oil painting; senior Melanie Ripley, Stillwater, Minn., for "I'm Screaming so Loud, but the Sound Won't Come Out," a watercolor; senior Merribeth Schrimpf, Goodhue, Minn., for "Desolation," a drypoint piece; senior Betsy Olaussen, Mound, Minn., for "untitled #1," a photograph; sophomore Mike Gehrke, Eau Claire, for "Stamp Design," a design piece; and senior Kelsey Temanson, Stratford, for "Anatomical Series: Foot and Spine," an illustration.

This year 169 entries were submitted by UW-Eau Claire students. Eighty-two artworks by 60 artists were accepted into the exhibit. The juror for the show was Jen Pepper, associate professor of art at Cazenovia College in New York, where she also serves as gallery director.

Following are the scholarship recipients and their scholarships: Senior Catelyn Mailloux, St. Cloud, Minn., Josette T. Migawa Arts Education Scholarship; senior Kelsey Temanson, Stratford, Tom Grewe Fine Arts Scholarship; sophomore Matthew Zuelke, Stratford, and senior Catelyn Mailloux, St. Cloud, Minn., Randolph Koelsch Art Scholarship; senior Betsy Olaussen, Mound, Minn., Patrick Danen Memorial Scholarship; sophomore Cheryl Peick, Maplewood, Minn., the Edward S. Fish Art Scholarship; junior Hannah Fechner, Burnsville, Minn., the Ruth Foster Scholarship; senior Megan Vlietstra, Birnamwood, Klinger Art Scholarship; senior Jessica Pautsch, Rice Lake, Edward Haugen "Ted" Leslie Memorial Scholarship; sophomore Claire Madden, Hudson, the Charles and Ann Campbell Art Scholarship; postbaccalaureate student Elizabeth Drexler, Shreveport, La., Andrea Cecchini Memorial Art Scholarship; senior Britta Jepsen, White Bear Lake, Minn., Herbert Friend Art and Design Scholarship; sophomore Deborah Thompson, Middleton, Sigrid Rasmussen Memorial Art Scholarship; junior Josephine Kallenbach, Eau Claire, and senior Jordan Martinez, Wausau, Gerald W. Newton Art Scholarship; junior Dalan Hartmann, Prentice, senior Rachel Schmidt, Hugo, Minn., and senior Merribeth Schrimpf, Goodhue, Minn., Gretchen Grimm Art Education Scholarship.

Foster Gallery hours are 10 a.m.-4:30 p.m. weekdays, 6-8 p.m. Thursdays and 1-4:30 p.m. weekends. The Annual Juried Student Art Show will be on display through April 25.

For more information, visit the Foster Gallery website or contact Tom Wagener at



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.