News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

UW-Eau Claire staff members, students receive WCPA awards

November 13, 2013

EAU CLAIRE — Several staff members and students at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire received awards at the annual conference of the Wisconsin College Personnel Association in October in Wisconsin Dells.

Christopher Jorgenson, director of the Women's and LGBTQ Resource Center, was awarded the New Professional of the Year Award.

"It is hard to give justice to the wonderful work Chris does on our campus supporting women and the LGBTQ community through his programming," said Jacqueline Bonneville, assistant dean of students, who nominated Jorgenson for the award. "It is great to help him receive the recognition he deserves from our state ACPA organization."

Melinda Daniels, a senior creative writing major from Milwaukee, was recognized with the Undergraduate Student of the Year Award.

"Melinda has been instrumental in the significant increase in student leadership recognition on our campus — both through her work with 'Of-the-Month' nominations through the National Residence Hall Honorary and through her work in the Activities Involvement and Leadership office, where she coordinated student leadership award processes and banquets," said Maigan Wipfli, student programs coordinator for Housing and Residence Life and Daniels' nominator.

The Top Program Award went to "Using Undergraduate Research to Maximize Student Affairs Assessment Plans," a presentation by Jodi Thesing-Ritter, associate dean of students, Lissa Martinez Greer, Blugold Beginnings program director, Greg Hofmann, a senior liberal studies major from Merrill and Bonneville.

"It was an honor to be recognized for our efforts to utilize faculty-student research as a means to increase student engagement in high-impact practices while gaining valuable data to assess activities within the Student Affairs division at UW-Eau Claire," Thesing-Ritter said. "Faculty-student collaborative research is such a rewarding endeavor that we were thrilled to have the opportunity to present about our efforts."

Wipfli served on the executive board this past year as the conference chair. She has co-planned the WCPA conference for the past two years. Joe Haferman, coordinator of student organizations and late night activities, served WCPA as president this past year.

WCPA is a state division of the American College Personnel Association, which has 7,500 members representing 1,200 private and public institutions from across the United States and around the world. All professionals and graduate students in Wisconsin working in student affairs and higher education can become members of WCPA free of charge.

More information is available on the WCPA website.




Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.