News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

College of Education and Human Sciences honors outstanding students, faculty, community members

May 1, 2014

EAU CLAIRE — The University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire College of Education and Human Sciences presented awards to students, faculty and community professionals April 16.

The following three students were recognized for their outstanding leadership and service to UW-Eau Claire and the community:

  • Crystal Ruzicka, a senior English education major, received the Outstanding Undergraduate Award. Ruzicka, from Chippewa Falls, is the 2013-14 treasurer of the Collegiate Wisconsin Association of Middle Level Education.
  • Jeremy Trautlein, a communication sciences and disorders graduate student, received the Outstanding Graduate Award. Trautlein, from Stanley, established the UW-Eau Claire chapter of the National Stuttering Association.
  • Amanda Rumpca, a senior communication sciences and disorders major, received the Emerging Leader award. Rumpca, from Ramsey, Minn., founded the National Society of Collegiate Scholars at UW-Eau Claire and serves as the organization's current president.

The following two UW-Eau Claire faculty members received awards for their dedication, enthusiasm and excellence:

  • Dr. Lisa Quinn-Lee, assistant professor of social work, received the Jeff Oliphant Blugold Spirit Award. Quinn-Lee mentors a number of students on faculty-student research projects, serves on committees across campus and collaborates with colleagues on research and teaching. "She is the spirit of the department and her emotional energy touches and positively impacts the lives of students, faculty and everyone else who has the privilege of work with her," Quinn-Lee's nominator said.
  • Dr. Jerry Hoepner, assistant professor of communication sciences and disorders, received the Ron Satz Teacher/Scholar Award. Hoepner has shown dedication to student success, commitment to democratic ideas and cultural diversity, excellence in scholarly contributions and enthusiasm in his field of expertise. "He constantly strives to make each day of instruction the best it can be," Hoepner's nominator said.

The following two community professionals received Wisconsin Association of Colleges for Teacher Education awards for their accomplishments in teaching and mentoring:

  • Tracy Boyd received the WACTE Pre-Service Educator Mentor Award, which recognizes outstanding achievement among education professionals who work with UW-Eau Claire education students. Boyd is a speech-language pathologist with the Altoona School District and has mentored students since 2002. According to her nominator, Boyd's "mentorship and supervision of our students is second to none."
  • Megan Cain received the WACTE Early Career Educator Award, which recognizes achievement among early-career educators for their positive impact on schools and communities, their innovation in designing learning experiences and student advocacy. Cain is in her second year of teaching at Mondovi Elementary School. "I have never worked with a more committed, hard-working, self-motivated, caring, compassionate and eager new teacher," her nominator said.

Honoring Our Professionals of Excellence awards recognize outstanding achievement among professionals who mentor and share their expertise with UW-Eau Claire College of Education and Human Sciences students while providing experiences in professional workplace settings. Recipients of the HOPE award were:

  • Luke Howard of Marshfield Clinic shares his expertise as an athletic trainer with countless students enrolled in the Athletic Training Education Program at UW-Eau Claire. Howard leads by example and creates a work environment where people and students feel valued, challenged and encouraged to offer suggestions and ideas.
  • Laura Hurd, a speech-language pathologist at Dove Healthcare in Eau Claire, serves as a role model for UW-Eau Claire students through her emphasis on co-treating her clients along with occupational and physical therapists. Hurd has mentored students for the last seven years and serves as an excellent role model to all.

For more information about the College of Education and Human Sciences awards, contact Dr. Jill Prushiek, College of Education and Human Sciences associate dean, at prushijt@uwec.eduor 715-836-5710.



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.