News Page Header

UW-Eau Claire news

 SHARE   |  

UW-Eau Claire student, local chapter honored by national honor society

August 7, 2014

EAU CLAIRE — A University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire student leader and the UW-Eau Claire chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta have been recognized and honored by the Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society.

UW-Eau Claire junior Kaitlyn Wilberding has been awarded a $1,000 Jo Anne J. Trow Scholarship for the 2014-15 academic year from the national honor society. Wilberding, of Cuba City, is a nursing major with a minor in Spanish for health professions. She will serve as co-president of the UW-Eau Claire Alpha Lambda Delta chapter, which operates in tandem with the Phi Eta Sigma honor society, during the 2014-15 academic year.

National Alpha Lambda Delta awards Trow scholarships to approximately 35 outstanding students across the country. The competition is open to sophomore members of the honor society who have a GPA of at least 3.5. Selection is based on academic records, participation in honor society events, applicants' statements, and campus and community involvement.

The UW-Eau Claire Alpha Lambda Delta chapter was honored as one of six chapters nationwide to receive the prestigious Order of the Torch Award from the Alpha Lambda Delta National Council for its activities during the 2013-14 academic year.

The chapter, which was recognized for its work in programming, internal communications, campus visibility and overall application presentation, was led by former president Samantha Behling, a senior management major from Boyceville. Jodi Thesing-Ritter, UW-Eau Claire associate dean of students, is the chapter adviser.

More information about the UW-Eau Claire Alpha Lambda Delta-Phi Eta Sigma chapter and the Alpha Lambda Delta National Honor Society is available online.



Excellence. Our Measure. Our Motto. Our Goal.